books

Praise for Gary's Novels

"Reflects his obvious medical expertise."
   —Publishers Weekly

"Dr. Gary Birken knows how to write and has fashioned a riveting tale."    —New York Times bestselling author Michael Palmer

"Crackles with authenticity. The suspense had me racing through the pages."
   —Don Donaldson, author of In the Blood

"Fans of Robin Cook, Patricia Cornwell and Kathy Reichs are going to want to put [Gary Birken's books] on his or her must read list."
   —Harriet Klausner Reviews

 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .


Code 15

Now Available!

Code 15

As the Chief of Emergency Medicine at Dade Presbyterian Hospital, Dr. Morgan Connolly faces death and suffering on a daily basis. So when two brothers in her care suddenly die from far advanced meningitis, she is devastated but understands as a doctor, she has to let it go. Not long after, Morgan's own father is killed in what seems to be a random attack. At the same time, the number of patients dying due to devastating but seemingly preventable medical mistakes—also known as a Code 15—begins rising dramatically throughout the hospital.

Morgan become suspicious that her father's death and that of the other patients were not random events. Her relentless pursuit of the truth leads her superiors to think she's losing her edge. As she begins to unwind a ruthless conspiracy, Morgan becomes convinced someone or some group is cutting a deadly path of vengeance through Dade Presbyterian—a path that may end with her facing her own demise at the hands of a merciless madman.

BUY THE BOOK:
IndieBound
Amazon
Barnes & Noble
Borders
Books-A-Million

PRAISE FOR CODE 15

"Engaging and very well done... It is a really fine story and deserves an 8 of 10 on the Weaver meter."
   —MainlyMysteries.com

"I love medical thrillers, so you can probably guess I loved this book! It had plenty of action and suspense and the ending was a surprise."
   —Ramblings.com

 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .


Embolus

Embulous

Death is a fact of life at the Gillette Trauma Center, a prestigious Washington, D.C. hospital that gets more than its fair share of seriously injured patients. At some point doctors have all seen a recovering patient suddenly die from a pulmonary embolus- a fatal blood clot to the lungs that can form after surgery. But lately, it's been happening with alarming frequency. Strangely, all of the patients were under the care of one physician—a certain Dr. Runyon. Journalist, David Airoway receives a mysterious tip and begins an investigation. The trail soon leads him to the Caduceus Project, a secrete society that will stop at nothing to achieve its goals.

After a serious injury, David, himself, becomes a patient at Gillette. The police are convinced he tried to kill himself, but his sister, a surgeon on staff at the hospital, rejects the possibility. She soon learns that David's inquiries have made him some very powerful enemies. It's now up to her to expose the conspiracy before those that would benefit from David's death succeed in their immoral and depraved mission.

BUY THE BOOK:
IndieBound
Barnes & Noble

 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .


Plague

Plague

At Franklin Children's Hospital, an inexplicable series of bizarre diseases is reaching terrifying proportions. Pediatrician Annick Clement soon finds herself caring for this growing number of profoundly ill and vexing patients.

After a meticulous and painstaking review, Annick comes to the chilling revelation that these illnesses have not occurred by pure happenstance—they are the work of a cunning bioterrorist with a unfathomable purpose to his morally corrupt behavior. He works in Annick's own shadow and soon becomes diabolically obsessed with her death. For Annick, stopping him means laying her own life on the line. As she sets out to do so, every passing hour soon becomes critical as a time bomb of impending disaster ticks on relentlessly.

BUY THE BOOK:
IndieBound
Barnes & Noble

 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .


Final Diagnosis

Final Diagnosis

With her unborn baby suffering from a rare and potentially lethal disease, Claire Weaver has placed her fate in the world renowned, Fetal Institute. Located in Miami, Florida. The Institute specializes in the delicate and risky field of fetal surgery, and boasts a state-of-the art medical facility with a brilliant staff of physicians and doctors. Claire has every reason in the world to trust them....and every reason not to.

Her closest friend, Erin Wells, is a reporter for the AMA news. Erin comes to Miami to extol the expertise of the celebrated Fetal Institute and to lend support to Claire. But what she soon discovers only arouses suspicion. Meeting with fierce resistance at every level, Erin risks more than she ever feared by digging deeper than she ever imagined. Now, the truth has brought her one step closer to an inescapable trap of an insidious conspiracy within the framework of deadly corruption.

BUY THE BOOK:
IndieBound
Barnes & Noble

 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .


Error in Judgement

Error in Judgement

A prominent and gifted surgeon, Matthew Allison, has managed to bury his dark past and attain a level of success beyond anything he could have ever imagined.

That is...until the day his "perfect world" comes crashing down around him.

How could he become the victim of such a clever blackmail scheme? A fiendish plot that will force him to commit a heinous act of malpractice upon an unsuspecting young woman. Can he do this? Does he have the courage to stand-up to the conspirators? Will Doctor Katie Cameron, a rising star in the surgical residency program, risk her own career and find the strength to unravel the mysterious Gordian knot?

BUY THE BOOK:
Barnes & Noble